New member intro - 24VDC PSU and control Interface question

General Forum Stuff...Introduce yourself

New member intro - 24VDC PSU and control Interface question

Postby Ischcuch » Sun Apr 07, 2013 5:28 pm

I am an engineer in the automotive industry in the UK. I am planning to build the 2.X laser as a hobby and to get to know the CNC control side. Having the laser available to cut small model parts is just a bonus!

I have scoured the build resources and forum but need help on the following topics:

1) What is current rating for the 24VDC Power supply.
2) Where can I buy a made up control interface / control unit?

Thanks in advance
Last edited by Ischcuch on Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ischcuch

Re: New member into - 24VDC PSU and control Interface questi

Postby edmond22 » Sat May 11, 2013 7:12 pm

I used a 6.3A 24Vdc power supply on my build, works just fine.

The Interface/Driver board was made in limited numbers by Bart Dring the owner of this forum, he has released the Gerber files for the pcb if you want to build your own one.
The parts list and assembly instructions are also available, I have them if you want me to email them to you along with the pcb Gerber files

I purchased one of Bart's unassembled interface/driver board kits for my build, top notch product.
edmond22

Postby Ischcuch » Sun May 12, 2013 9:17 pm

Thanks for the info Edmond,

I have decided to use a dsp as just the pcb is £150 to make in the UK. I'm sure my electronics knowledge and soldering skills will ruin the first one. The dsp seems an easier route.

Gus
Ischcuch

Postby StigOE » Fri May 17, 2013 9:35 pm

Ischcuch wrote:I have decided to use a dsp as just the pcb is £150 to make in the UK. I'm sure my electronics knowledge and soldering skills will ruin the first one. The dsp seems an easier route.