questions & suggestions for a (slightly) bigger 2.x build

General Forum Stuff...Introduce yourself

questions & suggestions for a (slightly) bigger 2.x build

Postby cerocca » Wed Jun 12, 2013 9:44 am

Hi there,
as mentioned in my "new member intro" post http://www.buildlog.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2103, I’m beginning to plan the build for my laser cutter, strongly based on buildlog 2.x design.

I started studying all the drawings , using the openscad model from thingiverse http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:12864 to enlarge the cutting area. I would like to reach a usable cutting envelope of about 34x24x4” (z dimension is not that important to me)

the main doubts I have are the following:

1) machine dimensions: is 34x24x4” a working area which makes the machine “too big to be built”?
    in one thread I read that there should be no problems to increase the 2.x design upto 30x20” - which should be the older buildlog (2.0? 1.0?) working area. In another thread (http://www.buildlog.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1622&start=10) user JV4779 says he scaled up his 2.x to 780mm X 430mm, suggesting to don’t go bigger because of the makerslide.
    So, according to this, can 34x24” be a critical size for the build or not? My target is to have a bigger working area which can work on bigger material sheets - see also point 2 - and which can house both a 40W laser (I will begin with this) OR a 60W laser (it will be a future improvement, with all the related issues such as proper cooling)
    2) standard material size: here in Italy one of the bigger laser cutter services (vectorealism) offers a 800x394 mm as the biggest workable sheet (wood / acrylic). Is this a standard dimension in the market? Because if the standard dimensions are smaller, I can make my cutter smaller, anyhow not less than 30x20”