An intro.

General Forum Stuff...Introduce yourself

An intro.

Postby noel_one » Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:26 am

Hello all.
I'm an old guy.Been going by 'Noel One' since the days of 1200 baud modems. ;) I've worked with my hands for most of my life. I'm a woodworker, by choice. Worked as a mechanic, and done some blacksmithing, welding, machine work and a little Mill work. Never tried my hand at CNC so, thought I would build one and see how it goes. Plan to pick up all the parts to build a 'bulldog' laser cutter and construct it. Then I'm going to try and figure out how to make it 'do stuff.' We'll see what happens after that.
As you may have surmised, I am a total newbie at this end of things. This is going to be one hell of a learning curve. LOL
Just to add to the insanity, I'm hoping to also build a CNC router carving machine.

To that end, I acquired an old 40" wide pen plotter with a roll drum. It has DOS based plotter software with it. <G> I figure it will either be a good base for a router or laser. Not sure which, yet. Either way, it's good some heavy duty parts in it that should prove useful.

Any ideas?

Cheers!
noel_one

Re: An intro.

Postby TLHarrell » Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:09 pm

I am not sure how much use you're going to get from repurposing those parts. Definitely it won't be solid enough for a CNC machine of any useful size. The linear rails for the laser head and the belt drive system from the plotter may be serviceable. The motors are likely not steppers, so your results may vary greatly. Not sure of the driver boards and feedback for the motors from that thing. Definitely take it apart and have a go with it, but you may find you're pushing a stone up a hill in order to save money on some of the cheaper components. Steppers are inexpensive. But purchasing new is good because you know exactly what you have, and it's not worn heavily from long use.

Awesome for learning, but don't go into it expecting a lot from the old plotter.