What about an SLA printer

Discuss ideas and construction techniques here.

Postby keos » Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:31 pm

I am new to this discussion forum so please cope with me .
Since my printer is in the building stage i had to go to an outside source to print a part, and i came across sterolithography printing, and let me tell you i was blown away. So if you guys can build 3d printers, CNC machines, and laser cutters,

Keos
keos

Re: What about an SLA printer

Postby macona » Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:56 pm

keos wrote:I am new to this discussion forum so please cope with me .
Since my printer is in the building stage i had to go to an outside source to print a part, and i came across sterolithography printing, and let me tell you i was blown away. So if you guys can build 3d printers, CNC machines, and laser cutters,

Keos

SLA is pretty cool. The projector based ones are really neat like the B9Creator. There is also the Form 1 that uses a small laser. The bottom-up method does have some advantages, less resin needed but there are issues with the work sticking to the bottom window.

I have been thinking about giving it a try on my laser cutter doing a more traditional top-down method. It takes more resin but it is simpler to do. And since the laser I use is UV (355nm) it should work with existing resins.
macona

Postby bdring » Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:02 pm

I know several people working with that. They all get the resins from Bucktown polymers. There are a lot of patents in that area that are frustrating a lot of open source guys.
Bart
"If you didn't build it, you will never own it."
bdring
Site Admin

Postby SystemsGuy » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:27 pm

I got to see a lost-wax cast ring made from a print on a B9, and it was pretty stunning. Most of the relevant SLA patents have expired, but 3DSystems did manage to dig one up that's the basis of the Kickstarter/FormLabs lawsuit.
SystemsGuy

Postby Cre8ivdsgn » Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:53 pm