Announcing the ORDuino !

Topics Related to the ORD Bot Printer

last "proto" ORDuino ...any takers?

Postby frob » Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:45 pm

One more "proto" ORDuino kit left, any more takers ?
frob
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:24 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Announcing the ORDuino !

Postby orcinus » Sat Apr 14, 2012 9:35 pm

Yup, me, please.
But can you PM me the shipping cost to Croatia?
orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am

Thank you for your orders and support!

Postby frob » Sat Apr 14, 2012 10:36 pm

orcinus wrote:Yup, me, please.
But can you PM me the shipping cost to Croatia?

Done!

I am thrilled and grateful for the terrific response so far :D

So for now all the protos are spoken for, unless i get a happy surprise in the package from the boardhouse:
i tend to order odd numbers of boards for prototypes. why?
it turns out they always stack boards 2-deep to drill them so there's always an even numbers made, if there's a spare, they usually send it too :)

But if you still want one don't fret, i am happily taking pre-orders and reservation deposits on production boards now, with the extra bonus of a free Hadron build plate or $20 credit (when paid fully upfront), until the day production boards start shipping :)

Cheers
Frantz
frob
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:24 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Announcing the ORDuino !

Postby Enraged » Wed Apr 18, 2012 2:39 am

Do you have any heated beds? I'm in Victoria BC
Enraged
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 3:13 pm

Re: Announcing the ORDuino !

Postby orcinus » Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:36 am

orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am

ORDuinos are IN the building!

Postby frob » Wed Apr 18, 2012 5:22 pm

20120418_130422.jpg
ORDuino bare board
And a happy surprise too, got 10! :-)
Assembly commences Thursday, cant wait to get one and running
Hotbeds are expected by the end of the week too, so i might be printing before the weekend is out :mrgreen:
frob
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:24 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Re: Announcing the ORDuino !

Postby orcinus » Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:30 pm

Woohoo!

And JEEZUS that thing is crowded.
orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am

Re: Announcing the ORDuino !

Postby orcinus » Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:00 pm

What are those diode pads marked with what looks like siamese zeners for?
Bicolor LEDs?

(Edit: Also, is any of the fastons ground? Where do you hook up the extruder/HBP GND?)
orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am

Re: Announcing the ORDuino !

Postby bdring » Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:10 pm

Is it built yet?

Does the board have components on both sides. The silkscreen suggests that.

From the picture the quality of the silkscreen and solder mask look very poor. Is it just the picture?
Bart
"If you didn't build it, you will never own it."
bdring
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:33 pm
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Announcing the ORDuino !

Postby frob » Sat Apr 21, 2012 7:00 pm

orcinus wrote:What are those diode pads marked with what looks like siamese zeners for?
Bicolor LEDs?
Lol they're actually siamese zeners. i guess that means i did a good job drawing their symbol on the footprint :)
I use them in a lot of places for example to protect the MCU i/o's and mosfets from ESD / overvoltage.
The only LED on the board is just right of the center screw.
(Edit: Also, is any of the fastons ground?
Yes, the one in line with the electrolytic caps furthest on the left is GND. (next to the one for Vin) All the fastons are double connectors so you can plug up to 2 wires in each.
Where do you hook up the extruder/HBP GND?)
There are 2 faston tabs and a 3-pole screw terminal block (where it says V+ fused heat) with separately fused 10A & 20A terminals for heater power, and the heater mosfets switch to ground (like RAMPS and other controllers) which are brought out to a similar 3-pole screw terminal block (marked HBP, EX1, EX2) as well as the 3 faston tabs just above that. The intent is the 20A circuit is for the hotbed, and the 10A circuit for the extruder(s).

Also, If you want to run the motors on a different voltage than the hot ends /hotbed, you can do so through the other 3-pole screw terminal block (or the faston tab) on the upper left, which has separate connections for both, or a jumper to bridge them if you're using another connector to feed in power instead. Currently, all motors are connected to a common power bus so you can't have one motor on one voltage and another on a different voltage, so the "VM" terminal on each motor connector is not terribly useful. I will try to make it possible to run motors on independent voltages on future versions though - its the "running out of space" problem that prevented it this time. :roll:
frob
 
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 6:24 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

PreviousNext

Return to ORD Bot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron