Simple G-code to test Quantum?

Topics Related to the ORD Bot Printer

Simple G-code to test Quantum?

Postby dalewheat » Wed May 23, 2012 1:27 am

I'm waiting on a hot-end for my Quantum, but would like to go ahead and check out the mechanicals and electronics as they stand.

Can anyone give me a short snippet of G-code to exercise the axes? I have end-stops on the X and Z axes, but not the Y axis. Anything that will move the head around and make sure everything's moving smoothly would be appreciated.

Thanks!


Dale
dalewheat
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:55 pm

Re: Simple G-code to test Quantum?

Postby bdring » Wed May 23, 2012 1:47 am

You can test all the motors with the manual controls on Pronterface. You can also enter G-Code manually. My G-Code commenter is good reference.

http://www.buildlog.net/cnc_laser/cnc/g ... mment.html

Here are some quick good ones.

G92 X0 Y0 Z0 ;this manually set current position to 0,0,0
G01 Z10 ; move to Z10
Bart
"If you didn't build it, you will never own it."
bdring
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:33 pm
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Simple G-code to test Quantum?

Postby dalewheat » Wed May 23, 2012 2:12 am

Bart,

Thanks! That got me going.

I've been moving individual axes using Pronterface, but wanted to see something that looked more like a 3D printer actually printing something.

I guess I'm all envious since I saw your Quantum running at Maker Faire :D


Dale
dalewheat
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:55 pm

Re: Simple G-code to test Quantum?

Postby mxk » Wed May 23, 2012 4:19 am

Dale,
If you are using Marlin firmware, use Pronterface to manually issue a "M302" command to allow cold extrusion, then "print" any object you want, after editing out the M104 and M109 commands near the top of the g-code file. You'll get to see the head moving at speed and the extruder turning while it thinks it is printing your object.
mxk
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:02 pm

Re: Simple G-code to test Quantum?

Postby dalewheat » Wed May 23, 2012 10:48 pm

mxk,

That's exactly what I was looking for! Thanks for the tip.

Since not all of my limit switches are installed, I omit (comment out) the "G28; home all axes" line and a "M108". I didn't find a "M109" command.

Also, I found I needed to change the "printer center" coordinates in slic3r from 100,100 to 50,50 to fit the smaller Quantum print bed. This is probably not news to many of you, but it was to me. I was wondering why it was chugging away in just one corner of the print bed. Now it's properly centered.

I'm printing out an imaginary Pikachu right now:

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:22012

Fabulous! Thanks again, everyone.


Dale
dalewheat
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 6:55 pm


Return to ORD Bot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests

cron