*soon to be* ORD Bot owners, assemble!

Topics Related to the ORD Bot Printer

*soon to be* ORD Bot owners, assemble!

Postby kwando » Fri Jun 22, 2012 3:36 am

Hi All,

I thought it'd be a good idea for all of us new Ord Bot owners to discuss what we're going to be putting into the bots to get them running.

We can discuss what latest electronics we're thinking of using, post up links etc, maybe even arrange a bulk buy to save on costs.

Once the kits arrive, we can have a virtual build along as well and help each other trouble shoot problems.

I know a lot of the answers will be available through searching other build logs on the forums, but this will make it more interactive and timely I feel.

Full disclosure - I'm very new to 3D printing and after months of research the ORD bot Hadron will be my first printer.

- kwando
kwando

Re: *soon to be* ORD Bot owners, assemble!

Postby SpacedCowboy » Fri Jun 22, 2012 3:57 am

So, I already have a Makerbot thing-o-matic, but I'm itching for a larger print-bed. The Hadron seems ideal :)

The plan is to get the ORDuino for the electronics and the qu-bd universal extruder for the hot-end, using thermocouples for temperature measurement (hence the ORDuino). I like the feature-list on the ORDuino (LCD display, thermocouples, 5 drivers) although the Azteeg X3 looks pretty cool too (and is slightly cheaper).

Just hanging in here, waiting for things to suddenly get busy :) Oh yeah, and I've just pre-ordered the parts for the 2.x laser as well... Ok, get *really* busy :)

Simon
SpacedCowboy

Postby kwando » Fri Jun 22, 2012 4:03 am

Haha, very nice.

I've been reading all the posts on the ORDuino and it does look very good indeed. From a totally noob perspective, what advantages does it offer over say, a RAMPS? Price wise, what's the difference also?

Are you planning on getting the ORD bot custom hotbed also made by Frob?
kwando

Postby mxk » Fri Jun 22, 2012 4:19 am