BloomingtonMike's Hadron build log

Topics Related to the ORD Bot Printer

BloomingtonMike's Hadron build log

Postby bloomingtonmike » Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:33 am

I got some new Hadron plates from ATI and Bart so I am officially starting my build. I am not counting my time with my Progware plates in my build. Mike is great at Progware but their plates are no good right now. Mike is fixing that. Bart's/ATI's plates are perfect. Ill have some from reprapd tommorrow as well and will also comment on them.

So here we go...

Ord Bot Hadron Kit

Here is the gantry I assembled tonight. I did not get any screws with my belt clamp so I am using M4-.70 X 12mm. Tapped the printed clamps and drilled through the carriage.

I am also using the modded PTI 3/8-12 lead nuts (notice they are round) I modded for the Hadron's original M8 nut dimensions/spacing (distance from the carriage) . See my write up in that thread.

Image

Image
bloomingtonmike
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:04 am

Re: BloomingtonMike's Hadron build log

Postby bloomingtonmike » Fri Jan 11, 2013 1:32 pm

Image
bloomingtonmike
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:04 am

Re: BloomingtonMike's Hadron build log

Postby bloomingtonmike » Mon Jan 21, 2013 6:54 am

And until the Viki gets here I got this configured tonight.

Image
bloomingtonmike
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:04 am

Re: BloomingtonMike's Hadron build log

Postby bloomingtonmike » Sun Mar 24, 2013 3:22 pm

Some updates to my ORD Bot 3D printer build. Wiring is buttoned up. Need to mount the heated bed (Helios) and mount the power supply better and install a nicer power switch. Coming right along. Mostly internal wired (Y axis wire failed DAHMIT - hardest one so it is now external). Love the springs!

Here is a video.


Image

Image
bloomingtonmike
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:04 am

Re: BloomingtonMike's Hadron build log

Postby keos » Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:35 am

Bloomingtonmike I just saw your post; are you up an running?
I have the same rods and nuts and springs and no go from my side; how did you manage to align them .

Keos
keos
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 6:58 am
Location: Granada Hills, California

Re: BloomingtonMike's Hadron build log

Postby bloomingtonmike » Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:40 am

I am up and running. Not sure it is perfect yet. I have motion though.

I squared y to the cross member and the Zs to the cross member. Then leveled out x gantry on the Zs.

Do you have motion at all?
bloomingtonmike
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:04 am

Re: BloomingtonMike's Hadron build log

Postby bloomingtonmike » Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:42 am

1
bloomingtonmike
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:04 am

Re: BloomingtonMike's Hadron build log

Postby cozmicray » Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:27 pm

Nice build!
Where did you get the springs to enclose wires?

I put some spacers under the Y plate to get it up some to prevent
the timing belt from rubbing on the leading / trailing edges.

With a lot of printing -- the Y-stage going back and forth,
going to take it's toll on the belt without something there to eliminate the contact.

I am looking at doing the same on X-axis but flipping idler over seems to have
given clearance to X belt.

Also for me it looks like belt anchors are loosening up
look at anchoring belts better.
cozmicray
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:32 pm
Location: Blue Bell, PA

Re: BloomingtonMike's Hadron build log

Postby bloomingtonmike » Sun Mar 31, 2013 2:47 am

The springs came from Ace hardware - they are screen door springs with the bent ends cut off.

Wanted to show my fuse holder/fuse installation. It is a (USM1) Ferraz Shawmut Ultrasafe Modular Fuse Holder for Midget Class Fuses (30A max), 1 Pole, non-indicating. I attached a 1.5" piece of 35mm DIN-rail to a 5mm T nut that was inserted into the front of the mitsumi base. I connected up the fuse holder and slid it on. It slides freely on the rail. I may install some DIN rail end stops.

Link to fuse holder - http://www.factorymation.com/Products/M ... /USM1.html

DIN Rail - http://www.factorymation.com/Products/D ... S-5PK.html

My power supply is attached with industrial velcro between two dual hole angle brackets below the Y axis makerslide. the fuse holed fits perfectly between the rail and power supply.

Image

Here is my power switch. from here the ground and neutral go to the power supply. The 120V hot line then goes to the fuse holder and then to power supply.

Image
bloomingtonmike
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:04 am

Re: BloomingtonMike's Hadron build log

Postby bloomingtonmike » Sun Mar 31, 2013 3:05 am

Scalled back picture showing switch, fuse holder, and powersupply. You can see where the brackets are mounting the power supply as well if you look close.

Image
bloomingtonmike
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:04 am


Return to ORD Bot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron