custom gcode in slic3r

Topics Related to the ORD Bot Printer

custom gcode in slic3r

Postby tmccafferty » Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:16 pm

At the end of my print, one ofthe things that I want the extruder to do is move up 20mm from where it is and go to x0. I am using the following code:
M104 S0 ; turn off estruder heater
M140 S0 ; turn off bed heater
G91 ; set to relative positioning
G0 Z20 ; move Z axis up 20 mm
G90 ; set to absolute positioning
G28 X0 ; home X axis
G0 Y200 ; move table forward

everything works except the line to move the z up 20 mm
I can type the commands in the command line and they work.

Any ideas on what's going on?
tmccafferty
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: custom gcode in slic3r

Postby TLHarrell » Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:51 pm

Is it somehow set to disallow rapid movements at that time in the code? Would you need to add code for movement speed?
40w Full Spectrum Engineering 5th Gen Hobby 20"x12" w/ Rotary Engraver
South San Francisco Bay Area - Sales and Support Representative for Full Spectrum Engineering
408-47-LASER - Skype: whitelightlaser-thomas - Facebook: White Light Laser
TLHarrell
 
Posts: 419
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:30 pm
Location: Morgan Hill, CA

Re: custom gcode in slic3r

Postby tmccafferty » Thu Apr 04, 2013 10:16 pm

I just tried it with a G1 instead of the G0 and it worked.
tmccafferty
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: custom gcode in slic3r

Postby TLHarrell » Thu Apr 04, 2013 11:25 pm

Nice. It's been a while since I had to do Gcode by hand, so I'm a bit rusty on the finer details. Good to see you got it sorted.
40w Full Spectrum Engineering 5th Gen Hobby 20"x12" w/ Rotary Engraver
South San Francisco Bay Area - Sales and Support Representative for Full Spectrum Engineering
408-47-LASER - Skype: whitelightlaser-thomas - Facebook: White Light Laser
TLHarrell
 
Posts: 419
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:30 pm
Location: Morgan Hill, CA

Re: custom gcode in slic3r

Postby Digitalmagic » Fri Apr 05, 2013 8:42 am

If you have to print again, it is good to have a similar script, keeping extruder & bed heating.

After a print, I rapidly quit the host software, unplug/plug the USB, and switch heating again.
Human has 20 nail ... extruders.
Digitalmagic
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:42 pm

Re: custom gcode in slic3r

Postby tmccafferty » Fri Apr 05, 2013 1:16 pm

I put the code to turn the heaters off as a default in case I've left it printing on its own. If I'm going to print again immediately I just select the "set" button on Pronterface for the two heaters and press on.
tmccafferty
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: custom gcode in slic3r

Postby tmccafferty » Mon Apr 08, 2013 1:40 am

Ugh, I just thought it was working (or id did once). Even with G1 and a federate, it doesn't work.

Any ideas?
tmccafferty
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: custom gcode in slic3r

Postby rocketwiz » Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:57 pm

I had the same issue. Turns out there wasn't enough current delivered by the z driver. Normal moves were fine but G0 and G1 commands seemed too much. You can try turning up your pot bit by bit while manually sending a G0 command.
rocketwiz
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:25 am

Re: custom gcode in slic3r

Postby tmccafferty » Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:55 am

When I enter a g0 or g1 command from the console, it moves fine. The commands don't work though when embedded in the script.
tmccafferty
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 3:40 pm

Re: custom gcode in slic3r

Postby flurin » Thu Apr 11, 2013 7:43 am

Try with the code M400 (Finish all buffered moves).
User avatar
flurin
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 12:09 pm
Location: Switzerland

Next

Return to ORD Bot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests

cron