I've finished my Hadron build, except for one little problem

Topics Related to the ORD Bot Printer

Re: I've finished my Hadron build, except for one little pro

Postby k4mg » Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:48 pm

@Digitalmagic
Ramps1.4 on Arduino 2560

@SystemsGuy
ATI kit, RRD electronics

Results of M119 below, with an additional thought I had, and a test, but didn't fix anything.

16:55:54.045 : N13 M119 *56
16:55:54.045 : Reporting endstop status
16:55:54.045 : x_min: open
16:55:54.045 : x_max: open
16:55:54.045 : y_min: open
16:55:54.045 : y_max: open
16:55:54.045 : z_min: open
16:55:54.045 : z_max: open

Clicked each switch here

16:56:31.002 : N14 M119 *63
16:56:31.002 : Reporting endstop status
16:56:31.002 : x_min: open
16:56:31.002 : x_max: open
16:56:31.002 : y_min: open
16:56:31.002 : y_max: open
16:56:31.002 : z_min: open
16:56:31.002 : z_max: open

This gave me a thought. Homed machine, didn't move anything, typed m119 and got this

17:09:30.114 : N10 M119 *59
17:09:30.114 : Reporting endstop status
17:09:30.114 : x_min: TRIGGERED
17:09:30.114 : x_max: open
17:09:30.114 : y_min: TRIGGERED
17:09:30.114 : y_max: open
17:09:30.114 : z_min: TRIGGERED
17:09:30.114 : z_max: open

So the move away from each switch after homing isn't far enough for the switch to clear, Could this be my problem? I assume the switches do clear once the print starts and the carriages move away. Just as a try, I disabled x, y, and z min endstop pullups (I have circuit boards for the switches, and don't need the pullups) in Configuration.h, re-ran the test, same results as above. Tried the print, still Y only moves in positive direction.

Thanks all three for looking at my problem.
Last edited by k4mg on Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:58 am, edited 2 times in total.
k4mg
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:18 pm

Re: I've finished my Hadron build, except for one little pro

Postby bloomingtonmike » Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:06 pm

Here is my marlin mechanical settings if that helps. I have ramps 1.4/mega as well.

//===========================================================================
//=============================Mechanical Settings===========================
//===========================================================================

// Uncomment the following line to enable CoreXY kinematics
// #define COREXY

// corse Endstop Settings
#define ENDSTOPPULLUPS // Comment this out (using // at the start of the line) to disable the endstop pullup resistors

#ifndef ENDSTOPPULLUPS
// fine Enstop settings: Individual Pullups. will be ignord if ENDSTOPPULLUPS is defined
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_XMAX
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_YMAX
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_ZMAX
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_XMIN
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_YMIN
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_ZMIN
#endif

#ifdef ENDSTOPPULLUPS
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_XMAX
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_YMAX
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_ZMAX
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_XMIN
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_YMIN
#define ENDSTOPPULLUP_ZMIN
#endif

// The pullups are needed if you directly connect a mechanical endswitch between the signal and ground pins.
const bool X_ENDSTOPS_INVERTING = false; // set to true to invert the logic of the endstops.
const bool Y_ENDSTOPS_INVERTING = false; // set to true to invert the logic of the endstops.
const bool Z_ENDSTOPS_INVERTING = false; // set to true to invert the logic of the endstops.
#define DISABLE_MAX_ENDSTOPS

// For Inverting Stepper Enable Pins (Active Low) use 0, Non Inverting (Active High) use 1
#define X_ENABLE_ON 0
#define Y_ENABLE_ON 0
#define Z_ENABLE_ON 0
#define E_ENABLE_ON 0 // For all extruders

// Disables axis when it's not being used.
#define DISABLE_X false
#define DISABLE_Y false
#define DISABLE_Z false
#define DISABLE_E false // For all extruders

#define INVERT_X_DIR true // for Mendel set to false, for Orca set to true
#define INVERT_Y_DIR false // for Mendel set to true, for Orca set to false
#define INVERT_Z_DIR true // for Mendel set to false, for Orca set to true
#define INVERT_E0_DIR false // for direct drive extruder v9 set to true, for geared extruder set to false
#define INVERT_E1_DIR false // for direct drive extruder v9 set to true, for geared extruder set to false
#define INVERT_E2_DIR false // for direct drive extruder v9 set to true, for geared extruder set to false

// ENDSTOP SETTINGS:
// Sets direction of endstops when homing; 1=MAX, -1=MIN
#define X_HOME_DIR -1
#define Y_HOME_DIR -1
#define Z_HOME_DIR -1

#define min_software_endstops true //If true, axis won't move to coordinates less than HOME_POS.
#define max_software_endstops true //If true, axis won't move to coordinates greater than the defined lengths below.
// Travel limits after homing
#define X_MAX_POS 185
#define X_MIN_POS 0
#define Y_MAX_POS 195
#define Y_MIN_POS 0
#define Z_MAX_POS 150
#define Z_MIN_POS 0

#define X_MAX_LENGTH (X_MAX_POS - X_MIN_POS)
#define Y_MAX_LENGTH (Y_MAX_POS - Y_MIN_POS)
#define Z_MAX_LENGTH (Z_MAX_POS - Z_MIN_POS)

// The position of the homing switches
//#define MANUAL_HOME_POSITIONS // If defined, MANUAL_*_HOME_POS below will be used
//#define BED_CENTER_AT_0_0 // If defined, the center of the bed is at (X=0, Y=0)

//Manual homing switch locations:
#define MANUAL_X_HOME_POS 0
#define MANUAL_Y_HOME_POS 0
#define MANUAL_Z_HOME_POS 0

//// MOVEMENT SETTINGS
#define NUM_AXIS 4 // The axis order in all axis related arrays is X, Y, Z, E
#define HOMING_FEEDRATE {50*60, 50*60, 4*60, 0} // set the homing speeds (mm/min)

// default settings

#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT {78.7402,78.7402,1511.809,106.367} // default steps per unit for ultimaker
#define DEFAULT_MAX_FEEDRATE {500, 500, 5, 45} // (mm/sec)
#define DEFAULT_MAX_ACCELERATION {9000,9000,100,10000} // X, Y, Z, E maximum start speed for accelerated moves. E default values are good for skeinforge 40+, for older versions raise them a lot.

#define DEFAULT_ACCELERATION 3000 // X, Y, Z and E max acceleration in mm/s^2 for printing moves
#define DEFAULT_RETRACT_ACCELERATION 3000 // X, Y, Z and E max acceleration in mm/s^2 for r retracts

//
#define DEFAULT_XYJERK 20.0 // (mm/sec)
#define DEFAULT_ZJERK 0.4 // (mm/sec)
#define DEFAULT_EJERK 5.0 // (mm/sec)

//===========================================================================
//=============================Additional Features===========================
//===========================================================================
bloomingtonmike
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 3:04 am

Re: I've finished my Hadron build, except for one little pro

Postby brnrd » Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:44 pm

I have correct movement when using Repetier-Host to move my x, y, or z axis, either direction, and can home with no problem. If I load and try to air-extrude the print, the Y axis suddenly only goes in the positive direction. This is totally mystifying me.


If I understand this correctly, the y axis moves when you try to extrude. Did you edit the pins.h file by any chance? It sounds like the firmware might be using the same pins for the y as the E axis. What happens if you use repetier to manually extrude in air?
brnrd
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:25 pm

Re: I've finished my Hadron build, except for one little pro

Postby bdring » Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:20 am

firmware might be using the same pins for the y as the E axis


I did not read it that way. I think a video would help us. Otherwise, I am out of ideas right now.
Bart
"If you didn't build it, you will never own it."
bdring
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:33 pm
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: I've finished my Hadron build, except for one little pro

Postby brnrd » Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:42 am

It seems I misread the original message. If it jogs fine manually but doesn't move right while printing, then the gear might be slipping or the stepper motor might be skipping due to the higher speed when printing compared to the jogging speed.
brnrd
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:25 pm

Re: I've finished my Hadron build, except for one little pro

Postby blah_59 » Thu Apr 11, 2013 4:17 pm

I understood it as it works correctly when manually jogging it but when printing all "y" (or maybe "x") movements are positive, even when it is supposed to move negative. So instead of creating a square, it creates a "S" or lightning bolt type shape. ??
blah_59
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:08 am

Re: I've finished my Hadron build, except for one little pro

Postby k4mg » Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:00 pm

@bloomingtonmike
Thanks for configuration.h See video for my comments, but basically I am using your settings and still have the problem

@brnrd
Only change in pins.h is to enable RRD for panel support, and it doesn't appear to use any already used pins

@Bart
Video linked here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KHyd7gdXcaA&feature=youtu.be

@ blah
Right, but see video for an even simpler demo
k4mg
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:18 pm

Re: I've finished my Hadron build, except for one little pro

Postby SystemsGuy » Thu Apr 11, 2013 5:38 pm

Have you checked your stepper driver current setting?

Also - you mentioned something about changing the wiring order for two wires on your motors? Can you tell us what the wire order (colors) is going to your RAMPS board for each motor?
SystemsGuy
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:44 am

Re: I've finished my Hadron build, except for one little pro

Postby bdring » Thu Apr 11, 2013 7:06 pm

The video is very helpful.

Try jumpering out all the limits switches. It is easy to do if you have some of those slide on jumpers. It could be something to do with the limits getting mixed up. You have a very unique situation there, so it is going to be a weird solution that fixes it.

Check the limit switches with the Z in both positions.

Is is possible that the Z limit switch is tripped when the Y +/- is working and them it gets untripped when you move the Z up?
Bart
"If you didn't build it, you will never own it."
bdring
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:33 pm
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: I've finished my Hadron build, except for one little pro

Postby brnrd » Thu Apr 11, 2013 7:57 pm

@brnrd
Only change in pins.h is to enable RRD for panel support, and it doesn't appear to use any already used pins


I don't know what RRD is but I would try putting back the original pins.h and uploading the firmware with it to see if the problem goes away.
brnrd
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:25 pm

PreviousNext

Return to ORD Bot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests