Bowdenized Greg mount for ORD Bot?

Topics Related to the ORD Bot Printer

Bowdenized Greg mount for ORD Bot?

Postby orcinus » Wed Aug 21, 2013 9:05 pm

Before i start figuring out my own mount for getting a bowden-adapted Greg's extruder onto a Hadron, does anyone, by any chance, already have one designed? Or an adapter plate of some sort? I'm thinking of mounting it to one of the Z axis makerslides.
orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am

Re: Bowdenized Greg mount for ORD Bot?

Postby rickmellor » Thu Aug 22, 2013 4:03 pm

Here's one I did that worked pretty well: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:138015

The sender side bolts to the bottom of the Greg's extruder and the extruder part bolts on to the carriage in place of the Greg's extruder. I also have a bracket there that I used to hang the Greg's from, but IIRC I had to do some cutting to get the sender side to fit right ... the bracket was too narrow, but it was an easy fix.
rickmellor
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:15 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Bowdenized Greg mount for ORD Bot?

Postby rickmellor » Thu Aug 22, 2013 4:09 pm

rickmellor
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:15 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Bowdenized Greg mount for ORD Bot?

Postby blah_59 » Fri Aug 23, 2013 12:17 pm

I want convert my dual extrude setup I have right now into a bowden type but I want to keep it direct drive and I'm looking at mounting options that won't take too much Z height away. When I come up with something that works, I'll post a link.
blah_59
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 10:08 am

Re: Bowdenized Greg mount for ORD Bot?

Postby orcinus » Fri Aug 23, 2013 10:14 pm

@rickmellor - Cool, will give that a try. Thanks!
orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am

Re: Bowdenized Greg mount for ORD Bot?

Postby rickmellor » Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:46 pm

Btw, I used this for 3mm filament. You may want to look at other tubes for 1.75.
rickmellor
 
Posts: 89
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:15 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Re: Bowdenized Greg mount for ORD Bot?

Postby orcinus » Sun Aug 25, 2013 2:17 am

Not sure if that was directed at me, but if yes, no worries, i'm on 3mm and already got a 3mm tube + fittings.
orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am


Return to ORD Bot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron