Twin Extruder Carriage

Topics Related to the ORD Bot Printer

Twin Extruder Carriage

Postby dave3d » Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:46 pm

I have bowdenized my Wade extruder and jhead (if bowdenized is a word).

Still a few minor problems to sort out but it prints well at higher speeds with less shaking of the printer. The next stage I plan is fitting twin bowden extruders.

Does anyone make a twin extruder carriage? I have not seen one.
dave3d

Re: Twin Extruder Carriage

Postby cvoinescu » Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:09 pm

dave3d wrote:(if bowdenized is a word).

It is now. :)

Do you notice a difference in your prints? What tweaks did you have to make to combat oozing and delay, if any?
cvoinescu

Postby dave3d » Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:48 am

I have not altered any settings at all in Marlin. Not sure what is meant by oozing and delay. I am a relative newbie as you know but I do like to experiment and try things out.
I was surprised how much elasticity there is in the ABS filament. If you push the filament into a 1M PTFE tube you can move it backwards and forwards at one end quite a bit without it moving at all at the other. I have therefore kept the bowden tube as short as possible by mounting the extruder directly on the top of the Ord Bot. I turned the handle/controller plate upside down and I have fitted a section of Misumi rail across the top. The length of the PTFE tube is about 18" at the moment but I can probably shorten it back to just 15". I have built two of Bart Drings spool holders that run on roller bearings. I did toy with the idea of mounting the extruders on them but figured the tubes would be too long.