Auto Bed Trimming / Leveling help!! (with pics and config)

Topics Related to the ORD Bot Printer

Auto Bed Trimming / Leveling help!! (with pics and config)

Postby blazk » Wed Jun 10, 2015 10:20 pm

I am having some trouble getting my induction probe to auto bed level.
I have an ord-bot (http://imgur.com/XlZK44I) with the following settings in Simplify 3d (http://imgur.com/3MIuORi). And my marlin config file: (http://paste2.org/y01Nam0X)
When homing the Z goes to the top limit switch, Y to the back limit switch and x to the right limit switch (as seen in photo). The probe sits roughly 45mm to the right and 35mm to the front and when the hot end barely touching the plate the probe triggers. When I do a G29 command after homing, the hot end bottoms out (front right corner). This is due to the probe being off the bed. I am getting confused with all the config etc.
Also when i home the machine I have a positive values of z 278.00 (homes to the top of the machine) and x 295.00 (homes to the right of the machine) where as Y is 0 (homes to the back). This is where I get confused, should homing be a 0,0,0 number or have i got min / max etc mixed up somewhere..

So I need some help getting this all to work so I can enjoy auto bed leveling.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
blazk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:07 am

Re: Auto Bed Trimming / Leveling help!! (with pics and confi

Postby blazk » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:01 am

I have got the homing working to an extent eg. X homes to max (+295) to the far right where the end stop is, y homes to the back (0) and z (min) crashes into the bed due to the fact that once x and y are homed the nozel is on the from right of the heater bed and the sensor is off the table as you can see in this picture http://imgur.com/XlZK44I. I am at a loss as i THOUGHT it was suppose to safe home after G28 command after homing x and y. This doesnt happen. Here is my current configuration.h file: http://paste2.org/amGfMd0e (running marlin 1.0.2) . I really hope someone can help.
blazk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2015 4:07 am

Re: Auto Bed Trimming / Leveling help!! (with pics and confi

Postby fulg » Fri Jun 12, 2015 12:37 pm

I am in the process of setting this up as well, however I'm on Smoothie so I can't help you with your firmware.

Is there a specific reason why your home position is not where it should be? X should home to the Left, not the Right, Y homes with the build plate at the back, and Z homes at the build plate, not the top. You probably have issues with mirrored prints in various axes... So I would get this sorted first. It doesn't matter that the X motor is flipped on your build, the endstop should stay on the left.

Also, how is your induction sensor powered? You should use 12V, with a voltage divider on the result line, not the usual 5V from powered sensors. See Tom's tramming video for more details.

8d3af3193b1fbe32e6b046065b9f99f8.media.744x621.png
Endstop conventions.

Cheers,
Ben.
fulg
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 11:08 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Auto Bed Trimming / Leveling help!! (with pics and confi

Postby fulg » Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:58 pm

Did you get your home position sorted out?

For what it's worth, I had to use a small circuit to get the induction sensor to work reliably, a voltage divider wasn't enough. There was someone on fabric8r.com who is selling adapter boards (http://www.spaelectronics.com/store/ele ... apter.html) but I could not wait for it, so I made one myself using spare parts and a proto board. It's not pretty but it works...

[useless schematic]
[useless picture of said schematic]

This allowed me to confirm that the z-probe auto-leveling doesn't work at all on Smoothie, at least on cartesian type machines like the ORDBot. I'm sure it works fine for deltas. I have given up on Smoothie and ordered an Azteeg X3 to replace it. That's what I get for trying the bleeding edge... I'll try again in two weeks once the mailman arrives with the new board.

Cheers,
Ben.

EDIT: Deleted useless schematic. Don't use this, it doesn't work. I will post later with real info on how I got auto-leveling to work on the ORDBot. No circuit needed, just one diode is enough...
fulg
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 11:08 am
Location: Montreal, Canada


Return to ORD Bot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests