reprap discount ORDbot kit endstops - how do they mount?

Topics Related to the ORD Bot Printer

reprap discount ORDbot kit endstops - how do they mount?

Postby sacha » Sat May 25, 2013 3:15 pm

Hi all,

I'm new to buildlog and ordbots, but not to DIY 3D printers (4 reprap builds, AO-101, cupcake, up mini, and replicator 1 and 2 experience).

I purchased a reprap discount ORDbot kit + RUMBA + smart controller and my package came with 6 cool looking mechanical endstops like the one pictured here (3 are labeled MIN and 3 labeled MAX).

IMG_20130525_095652.jpg


My problem: I can't figure out how and where they mount! The standard ORDbot mounting positions don't work for these switches.

Most mechanical endstop designs use the holes that go through the body of the switch for mounting, but these look like I should be using the holes through the PCB which orient the switch 90 degrees away from what I'd consider normal operation of a mechanical end stop.

I'd love to use these switches (they have little LEDs that light up when they're activated - that's not only cool looking, but will help with calibration!).

Anyone out there have a guide for how they should be mounted?
sacha
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 2:59 pm

Re: reprap discount ORDbot kit endstops - how do they mount?

Postby bdring » Sat May 25, 2013 4:19 pm

It is hard to determine how large that is. Can you make a 3D model? Here is the first thing that comes to mind. I would use standard limit switches for X and X. They do not need to be calibrated and it is less wires for a std switch. For Z I might mount it on a block below the carriage and mount a screw in a block to the carriage for fine tuning.

rrd_sw.JPG
Bart
"If you didn't build it, you will never own it."
bdring
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:33 pm
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: reprap discount ORDbot kit endstops - how do they mount?

Postby sacha » Sat May 25, 2013 7:34 pm

Hi Bart,

From your response I take it that this might be a first sighting of these things? That's exciting...

The cases they come in are labeled FOR ORD BOT ONLY and MIN or MAX, the PCBs are labeled MIN and MAX as well.

for scale:
the three posts are standard 0.1" (2.54mm) pitch

the rectangle pcb is 35.3mm x 13.9mm

the mounting holes are about 3.7mm x 5.7mm and are about 22mm apart (on center)

the switch body itself is 5.7 x 12.6 x 6.1mm high and is located 2.7 mm from the nearest long edge and 7.7 mm from the nearest short edge

I'll see if I can draw something up later this holiday weekend.

IMG_20130525_143013.jpg

Here is an image of the other side, illustrating the remaining components (looks like an LED, two resistors, and a capacitor).
sacha
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 2:59 pm

Re: reprap discount ORDbot kit endstops - how do they mount?

Postby cozmicray » Sat May 25, 2013 8:11 pm

Millions of ways to mount it -- use imagination

Limit Switch 1 Jpeg.jpeg
Limit switch mounting possibilities
cozmicray
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:32 pm
Location: Blue Bell, PA

Re: reprap discount ORDbot kit endstops - how do they mount?

Postby sacha » Sat May 25, 2013 9:18 pm

@cozmicray
hah, sorry maybe I wasn't clear - since this appears to be a purpose built part for ORDbot, I was trying to see if there was a standard mounting for it because the pre-drilled holes and hardware in the reprap discount kit don't seem to suggest an existing way to mount these things.

I wanted to see if there are instructions before I go ahead and go through the effort of design/building a mount that might already exist!

But it looks like these things are new, so I'll have to come up with something. I like Bart's idea of using standard switches for X and Y for now (I've got loads) and concentrating on the Z.
sacha
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 2:59 pm

Re: reprap discount ORDbot kit endstops - how do they mount?

Postby cozmicray » Sat May 25, 2013 11:30 pm

Who sez they are "for Ordbot"?

Are they for Ordbot Quantum or Hadron

I don't think the Ordbot needs anything unique or special.

Why does a micro switch have to have Grnd, VCC, out,
are they optical or hall effect?

My Hadron works great with common micro switches (gnd, NC, NO)
and even mounted so the micro switches don't move so wires don't get exercised and break.

Have fun with the "special" "For Orbot Only" switches
I wonder what they would do if mounted on a Mendel, or Reprap --- get rejected?
cozmicray
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:32 pm
Location: Blue Bell, PA

Re: reprap discount ORDbot kit endstops - how do they mount?

Postby sacha » Sun May 26, 2013 1:18 am

coz and Bart:

I didn't order these, they just came with my ORDBot kit.

This should explain why I say that these seem purpose built for ORDbot.
2013-05-25 20.09.09.jpg
sacha
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 2:59 pm

Re: reprap discount ORDbot kit endstops - how do they mount?

Postby bdring » Sun May 26, 2013 12:51 pm

I have never seen those before. I am sure a little hacking would make them fit. Ultimately I am not sure what they gain you other than the LED and a little less soldering. If they were a true drop in piece, that would be ideal.
Bart
"If you didn't build it, you will never own it."
bdring
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:33 pm
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: reprap discount ORDbot kit endstops - how do they mount?

Postby vk5hbl » Thu Jun 06, 2013 9:29 am

Sacha, did you come up with a solution for the limit switches?
I have just received my Hadron ORB from reprap discount and have the same problem.
Cant seem to figure out how to use the switches that came with the kit?!
vk5hbl
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 8:52 am

Re: reprap discount ORDbot kit endstops - how do they mount?

Postby gadgetmiser » Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:57 pm

Hi Sacha, I second the above question - I received the same endstops from Reprapdiscount ... where did you end up mounting them? I was wondering if you could take some pictures. Another question is why 6 endstops were provided - as I understand it, you only really need 3 as the firmware can identify where the other end is?
gadgetmiser
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:28 pm

Next

Return to ORD Bot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests