Rack & Pinion with Retina Controller

Bearings/Motors/Belts/Gears/Etc.

Rack & Pinion with Retina Controller

Postby PSG » Mon Dec 13, 2010 2:00 pm

I am in the planning stages of building my first laser. I have experience with routers, so the basic construction is not new. In my reading, I see that the Retina Controller must have 1000 steps per inch. This confuses me some because on my router I was shooting for a much higher resolution (for clean cuts) and I am under the assumption that it is even more critical in the laser systems.

Is 1000 steps for speed or quality?

I am trying to find a balance of gear and reduction to come up with 1000 steps. With a rack driven system, I believe I can get all sorts of speed, as indicated by my calculator. I am doing everything possible to avoid screws due to backlash and I have zero experience with belts - although belts are completely not ruled out yet.
PSG

Re: Rack & Pinion with Retina Controller

Postby bdring » Mon Dec 13, 2010 6:45 pm

1000 Steps/in is a realistic output resolution and makes it easier to go faster. Engraving takes forever if at least one axis can't go fast. Do the math on your router for a 4" square engraving at your fastest speed and 0.002 stepover. (4" / 0.002 = 2000 scans).

You might get a little smoother with higher step rates, but you are unlikely to get better real world resolution. If you are really interested in smoothness, go with servos instead of steppers.
Bart
"If you didn't build it, you will never own it."
bdring
Site Admin

Postby PSG » Mon Dec 13, 2010 9:10 pm

Agreed - servos are the better way to go. Considering the needed size, they ought to be cheap enough. The biggest problem I have with servos is me.... I know absolutely nothing about setting them up. Steppers I know but I will not discount servos.