Azteeg X3 Help - or "Where's Roy?" ;-)

General discussion of 3D printers

Azteeg X3 Help - or "Where's Roy?" ;-)

Postby SystemsGuy » Mon Apr 08, 2013 3:04 pm

So I finally get my hands on a X3, and a ViKi LCD, and I've started my build, only to find out that I can't find a schematic for the X3?! What's up with that!!?!

If anyone can help - would be mucho appreciated!!

1] How much can the "low power mosfet's" switch?
2] Are the 12v pads on the board 12v or Vcc?
3] What's the AUX IN power for?
4] Is there a detailed pin list for the board?
5] I have the 1.1 expansion shield - any details on the thermocouple inputs? K2s?
6] Extra two MOSFET's on expansion board?

Please help! :-)
SystemsGuy
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:44 am

Re: Azteeg X3 Help - or "Where's Roy?" ;-)

Postby bdring » Mon Apr 08, 2013 3:54 pm

He has most of the information you need on the web site and wiki. I asked him for the actual board schematic and he sent it to me, but you should get it from him if you need it.

http://www.panucatt.com/Azteeg_X3_repra ... ax33dp.htm
Bart
"If you didn't build it, you will never own it."
bdring
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2966
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 7:33 pm
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Azteeg X3 Help - or "Where's Roy?" ;-)

Postby orcinus » Mon Apr 08, 2013 5:35 pm

Just a quick note:

According to Repetier's author, the SDA and SCL on the X3 are marked the wrong way around.
I'm not sure if that's for the original version, 1.1 or both.

In any case, if you can't get anything to show up on the ViKi, try swapping them around.
If you still can't get anything, try shorter cables.
orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am

Re: Azteeg X3 Help - or "Where's Roy?" ;-)

Postby SystemsGuy » Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:49 am

Yeah, found that out the hard way.. ViKi's up and running, along with the X3, but none of the advanced features I'd like to leverage are working yet...

Bart - understand - but the information I want is not on Roy's website - or I'm an idiot and can't find it, and I'm having a hard time getting in touch with him! :-)

orcinus wrote:Just a quick note:

According to Repetier's author, the SDA and SCL on the X3 are marked the wrong way around.
I'm not sure if that's for the original version, 1.1 or both.

In any case, if you can't get anything to show up on the ViKi, try swapping them around.
If you still can't get anything, try shorter cables.
Attachments
IMG_0427[1].JPG
Yes, it was a tall object.
SystemsGuy
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:44 am

Re: Azteeg X3 Help - or "Where's Roy?" ;-)

Postby orcinus » Tue Apr 09, 2013 1:45 pm

There's a merge request that should enable all ViKi features on Repetier apart from the SD card slot:

https://github.com/repetier/Repetier-Firmware/pull/87
orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am

Re: Azteeg X3 Help - or "Where's Roy?" ;-)

Postby SystemsGuy » Tue Apr 09, 2013 4:30 pm

Yeah - that's wolfman's code I'm running on.

orcinus wrote:There's a merge request that should enable all ViKi features on Repetier apart from the SD card slot:

https://github.com/repetier/Repetier-Firmware/pull/87
SystemsGuy
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:44 am

Re: Azteeg X3 Help - or "Where's Roy?" ;-)

Postby orcinus » Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:51 pm

Are you using the included cables or custom (shorter) ones?
orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am

Re: Azteeg X3 Help - or "Where's Roy?" ;-)

Postby SystemsGuy » Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:52 pm

The longer included ones - we where both discussing the clock speed - to be honest, I don't use the LCD all that much yet - it's more a status display than a control system for me.

At merged, the code with Repetier firmware is working flawlessly.

Now - if I could just get some information on the damned expansion shield I'd be golden.

orcinus wrote:Are you using the included cables or custom (shorter) ones?
SystemsGuy
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:44 am

Re: Azteeg X3 Help - or "Where's Roy?" ;-)

Postby orcinus » Wed Apr 10, 2013 2:42 pm

The expansion shield?

Edit: Oh, you mean the 1.1 shield. (i've got the voltage boost one... haven't even checked out what's new with the 1.1 shield)
orcinus
 
Posts: 720
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:03 am

Re: Azteeg X3 Help - or "Where's Roy?" ;-)

Postby SystemsGuy » Wed Apr 10, 2013 2:49 pm

Yeah - two additional thermisters, two thermocouples, two additional sets of motor pins, steppr fault detection - looks awesome. Zero documentation - no so awesome.

orcinus wrote:The expansion shield?

Edit: Oh, you mean the 1.1 shield. (i've got the voltage boost one... haven't even checked out what's new with the 1.1 shield)
SystemsGuy
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 7:44 am

Next

Return to 3D Printer General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron